17 replies to this topic

#1 farrist1

farrist1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • LocationSpartanburg, SC

Posted 15 October 2012 - 08:16 PM

I was just diagnosed, very early, very mild, started on azilect 0.5mg for 2 weeks, now on second week of 1 mg, tremor has not subsided. Is it supposed to? Today was very bad and in both hands, but while doing a lab demo for students in my class, thought it was only a resting tremor. I'm new to this and have lots of questions.
Thanks!

#2 Rogerstar1

Rogerstar1

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC

Posted 15 October 2012 - 09:38 PM

farrist1: Sorry to hear of your diagnosis. Generally, it is Carbidopa-Levodopa (aka: L-Dopa, generic: Sinemet) neurologists use to make or confirm a PD diagnosis and eliminate shaking. The single tablet is administered as a compound of the two drugs. One 'sneaks' the other past the blood brain barrier and then the other 'tricks' your remaining dopamine producing cells in the substantia nigra into revving up to oversupply the dopamine you need to function normally. I have never heard of Azilect being used to quell tremor, per se. You might ask your neurologist about that and ask him or her to prescribe a small dose of Sinemet to see if it removes your tremor. I am not a physician but these points are widely known by Parkinsonians who have been 'down' awhile. Best to you in all things.

Roger

Edited by Rogerstar1, 16 October 2012 - 06:19 PM.

#3 Hereathome

Hereathome

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 17 October 2012 - 11:43 PM

I don't know if Azilect helps with tremors specifically. However I was at a support group where a research \ patient doctor spoke. She said Azilect has neuro protective properties to help keep the symptoms away for a longer time. She suggested it was a good idea to start the Azilect early on with supplemental medication such as Sinemet.