#1 bjenczyk

bjenczyk

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • LocationLittleton, MA

Posted 25 April 2013 - 03:49 PM

I am a CPA, and I am currently taking Pramipexole and Levodopa/Carbidopa. I take my meds at 3:30 AM, 9:30 AM and 3:30 PM. Sometimes I might be at a meeting or conference, and I get into a position where I cannot easily take my meds on time. Today I was in a training and I was over 2 hours late. I can feel it when I miss the timing, and I am curious if anyone else works in a public setting where you cannot get away to take your meds. How do you deal with this? I am open at work about my PD, and I don't mind having clients know. I just don't want to stick out and I can't always get away to take my meds. Has anyone dealt with this in a way that works for them? Thanks.

#2 OneWingedVictory

OneWingedVictory

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • LocationNorth America

Posted 25 April 2013 - 05:48 PM

I carry a very small pill case that can fit into a pocket. I got mine at the MUJI store online. If I need to take my pills, I either excuse myself to go to the restroom to access water there or if I am on a site visit, I carry a small flask with water in it. If all else fails, I've swallowed the L-dopa/carb pills dry but I don't recommend it as they can stain your teeth.

It is far far better to suffer a small inconvenience or interruption during a meeting or training than to miss a dose! I've found if you do this nonchalantly, no none really even notices.

The One Winged Victory of Samothrace is a metaphor for our struggles, despite the odds, to keep steady and accept grace in the face of punishing adversity.

#3 Drummergirl

Drummergirl

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • LocationWhite River Jct. Vermont

Posted 25 April 2013 - 06:32 PM