#2 Rogerstar1

Rogerstar1

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,613 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC

Posted 12 November 2013 - 07:25 AM

I found Ms. Boyd's comment to the author's revelation interesting.  As a trial lawyer full disclosure in open court was required as an ethical duty and legal matter in my case which eliminated the 'when to come out' dilemma for me.  

• Connie Boyd
  • Denver

I'm a writer who has interviewed hundreds of patients with many different diagnoses over the past 27 years. Every man with Parkinson's I have ever interviewed has kept the diagnosis secret for as long as he could, especially from employers and co-workers. Based on my (admittedly anecdotal) experience, it may be the most-concealed illness in America.

Edited by Rogerstar1, 12 November 2013 - 07:36 AM.

#3 Beau's Mom

Beau's Mom

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,468 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA

Posted 12 November 2013 - 02:29 PM

It was kind of hard to conceal for me. Everyone around me noticed the changes before I did!

Dianne

I am not a human being trying to have a spiritual experience; I am a spiritual being having a (sometimes difficult) human experience.

#4 metfan31

metfan31

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • LocationNorth Suburbs of Chicago

Posted 12 November 2013 - 02:54 PM

Yeah I couldn't disagree more with her. I'm 33 so concealing the reason I move like I'm 30 yrs older or twice my age only led to awkward questions. The tremor, moodiness, and brain fog also gave people the impression I was on something (like illegal drugs). All said at the end of the day I get stressed by keeping big secrets and once I knew being open was not going to impact my job I felt there was no logic to hide the truth or burden those who I trusted early on with continuing to hide it as well. I guess I'm not much of a man to Ms. Boyd...

#5 Jlc

Jlc

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts

Posted 14 November 2013 - 12:17 AM