E-Newsletter Signup Like us on Facebook Sign Up For Our e-Newsletter
Photo

Can no longer stop the tremors...what to take?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 SandyR

SandyR

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationMaryland

Posted 10 March 2014 - 09:32 AM

Hi, I was diagnosed almost 11 years ago at age 41 and so far have been doing extremely well.  I only started Carb/Levadopa about 2 years ago, only 2 a day.  It's been in the last few months that I can no longer make the tremors in my right arm/hand stop once they get going, and I've noticed it's moving to my left side now.  I also have the rigidity and my movements are starting to slow at times.

My doctor has been suggesting Mirapex or Requip for years now, but I always refuse because of the sleepy side effects.  I recently read about Comtan, but all of the side effects were mostly falling asleep unexpectedly. I work full time as an executive secretary and can't be drowsy at my desk.  I know I'm fooling myself into thinking I can get by without it, especially now as it seems to be suddenly progressing.  My doc has offered to start me at the lowest dose possible, but I'm still nervous about it.

I'm desperately looking for advice....should I just up the Levadopa to about 4 times a day, or start taking something else?  Is there any medication for tremors that does not cause severe drowsiness? 

Thank you....

#2 Rogerstar1

Rogerstar1

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,703 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC

Posted 10 March 2014 - 09:47 AM

I'd try adding one half pill of L-dopa and taking them all by the half pill at closer intervals.  Or a CR (slow release) early in the day and see if that doesn't sustain your relief better.

R.

#3 Carl Carter-Schwendler

Carl Carter-Schwendler

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 March 2014 - 05:01 PM