#1 New normal

New normal

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • LocationArizona

Posted 11 April 2014 - 05:40 PM

It's tax time...just days to go...and I CANNOT finish the tax prep necessary to get the info to my accountant. I am sure I am not alone...there are a LOT of people who file for extensions.

However, I have a Masters degree in global economics, been a business owner, and an executive assistant to state political leaders....my inability to meet deadlines is uncharacteristic....and also scary. I hate to think procrastination and a lack of discipline are my "new normal".

It wd be convenient for me to blame my lack of executive function on PD or it's accompanying rx.

I do not want to accept that thinking. Yet, I struggle ....and struggle....to fulfill my obligations when it comes to business, paperwork, and in some cases, even responding to phone calls.

What do you all think? Cd it just be depression? Is it part of the aging process to welcome the easy chair and forego the necessary requirements of daily responsibilities? I literally can feel a weight...a fog like feeling ...come over my thinking...I get very tired..numb like ... after an hour of office work or "thinking." I find it difficult to face even the simplest of tasks ... Or to interact with people.

At my last appt I asked my neuro if I cd do some cognitive testing to establish a baseline ...and to address what I feel is a rapid deterioration of my mental processes. He said I shd wait...that I do not appear to have any problems.."now if you told me you frequently get lost or you cannot perform your routine tasks..." My husband actually laughed..I DO get lost..I CAN'T perform routine tasks !! I cannot follow recipes , find conversations on TV are too fast...which I related to the dr. He seemed to think I have no problems.. "U seem very intelligent...u have no problems now." (Other than I cannot communicate my frustration to my doctor.)