19 replies to this topic

#1 warrenscott.

warrenscott.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 66 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 11:30 PM

I studied language in a university.  I mean I bore down on it so fast and so hard and for so long that I diversified.  I studied logic, I studied rhetoric, I studied semantics, I studied theory, I studied grammar, I studied literature, I studied Drama, I studied Shakespeare, I read every classic.  But I did a whole lot of that before I went to college because television was not allowed in my home and no one wanted to play monopoly with me or scrabble with me or spades with me or hearts with me or checkers because I always won.  But my Dad loved to play chess with me and that was important because I could never beat him.  If I had known then, what I know now, I would have tried to get him interested in Backgammon and see what happened.  I would have overcome all the humility of getting beaten at chess.  He was also good at split level tic tac toe, the kind with the clear and blue marbles if anyone remembers them.  I was still playing with yo-yo's too and riding bicycles.  I was normal and a nerd, which should have indicated language was the discipline of choice I could not avoid.

Then I decided not to go to law school and my parents were angry.  Then fifteen years went unaccounted for after I wrote and published several poems that were short and weird enough to please tedious people.  I became a self-proclaimed tutor, editor, blogger, and worked for several non-profit organizations.  I worked as a paralegal and did some serious stuff I did not enjoy and did not even charge money for it because the cause justified the dedication, time and effort.  I gave my talents to the benefit of others and stayed reluctantly humble all of the time.  My life was really great.  I did not have to get married or divorced, or take anything seriously I did not want to.  and I did not want to.