E-Newsletter Signup Like us on Facebook Sign Up For Our e-Newsletter

low ferritin and high TSH levels

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests

Posted 05 May 2008 - 06:20 PM

Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum and I wanted to say thank you for all of your wonderful advice. You provide a great service. Having said that I need some advice. I was diagnosed with PD on February 4th of this year, I am a 45 year old female and I am currently not on any medication. My problem is that I have chronically low ferritin levels and despite taking iron supplements for almost a year now and just being retested, my levels are still below normal. I have great fatigue with this disease which I am sure my low ferritin does not help and my TSH was just tested again and it has always been normal my whole life even five months ago and this last test came back elevated. It was 7.7, with the lab range for normal being 0.38-5.5 mU/L. My question is despite eating foods high in iron and despite taking supplements is it a problem having low iron stores and also I have read that low iron stores can sometimes affect your thyroid. Is that true. I am reluctant to treat my thyroid right now until I have it retested, in case it was a one time thing.I have alot of problems with delayed stomach emptying, could this be creating a problem for me with absorption problems? Also most iron supplements really pose problems for my stomach so I was taking a liquid formula called Floradix and another one called spatone that is a high iron water. About 30mgs a day of iron. I also eat very well, all organic food including organic beef, and chicken on a regular basis. I was hoping you might have some advice for me. I have had problems with my iron stores my whole life. Maybe its not a problem at all. My hemoglobin is always normal 149, 120-150 g/L being the range for my lab and my ferritin was 11,15-180 ug/L the range. Thanks for taking the time to read t