E-Newsletter Signup Like us on Facebook Sign Up For Our e-Newsletter
Photo

How to Help Patients Who Can't Walk on Their Own?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 RobertB

RobertB

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 23 December 2008 - 07:11 PM

My mom has gone down hill a bit in the last few months and can't stand on her own or walk. It's a real chore trying to move her around. She needs help getting out of bed and getting to the commode (which is right next to the bed).

Do any of you have to deal with a person in this state? How do you move them from, say, the bed to the toilet (or commode, in my case)?

Thanks...

Bob

#2 wheelersce

wheelersce

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • LocationMI

Posted 24 December 2008 - 08:23 AM

Hello Bob,
As a nurse, I want to be there and show you. That being impossible, I'm trying to figure out some advice for you. Would you be able to have a health care professional come and demonstrate transfer techniques? Maybe call the Office on Aging, or health department? There are some YouTube videos that might be helpful, but I got a little bogged down looking on your behalf. You want to keep yourself as well as your mom free from injury. A transfer belt might be helpful. If she can bear weight just to stand, the belt and a pivot transfer is what I imagine might be the way to go. Hold her close with your arms under hers,and your knees bracing hers, and simply turn the shortest distance necessary. How I recall helping my own mother as she declined! There's something about unavoidable close personal contact that is very meaningful. My sister, not a nurse, voiced rather unexpected appreciation for this necessary "dance." Best wishes, Sue W.

#3 RobertB

RobertB

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 December 2008 - 12:52 AM

Thanks very much, Sue.

Well, we had to put mom in the hospital Christmas Eve, so we'll see what kind of shape she's in when she comes home.