#1 NeuroResearcher

NeuroResearcher

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 January 2010 - 10:35 AM

PARKINSONISM AND DEPRESSION STUDY

Dear all,

I am a researcher at The College of West Anglia conducting a study into the relationship between parkinsonism and depression.
The links between Parkinson's Disease and depression are well documented. This study seeks to further this research, and extends the investigation to also include parkinson's plus syndromes.

It would be greatly appreciated if those of you who are eligible could contribute to this research by completing the questionnaire located at the following link:
http://spreadsheets....b1VqaF8wT3pXdkE

Those eligible are people with Parkinson's Disease, Multiple System Atrophy, Progressive Supranuclear Palsy, and Cortical Basal Degeneration.

Friends/family members of an individual with one of these conditions may complete the questionnaire, however the responses given must be those dictated by the eligible individual.

Many thanks,

Cheryll Otu
BSc (Hons) Dunelm

"Hope through research".

#2 netgypsy

netgypsy

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 643 posts

Posted 16 January 2010 - 12:34 PM

There is a serious problem with this survey. it does not take into account the huge differences the person may have when meds are working and when they are not. You need to at least be clear about whether the answers should be "on meds" or "off meds".

In my case for example my problem for years has been anxiety, not depression. I may have been depressed because I had such severe anxiety but that's different from idiopathic depression.

And "on meds" I have no anxiety, thus no depression. So surveys like this are very difficult to answer when so many of us have a huge swing in both physical and mental function and state because of the various environmental factors that affect the functionality of our med.

#3 alexjoan

alexjoan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 March 2010 - 01:55 AM