• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 DAVIDLKELLERMD

DAVIDLKELLERMD

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 April 2010 - 08:32 PM

I am a primary care physician (Internist) with early-onset PD formally diagnosed at age 49. My prescription medications are Azilect, Requip XL 8 mg a day and Sinemet CR 25/100 mg three times a day, which allow me to practice full-time. In addition, I take the following substances in the hope that they might be neuro-protective (slow down the loss of further brain cells): Coenzyme Q10 400 mg twice a day, ibuprofen 200 mg per day, and I am attempting to slowly add nicotine in the form of the lowest dose of Commit nicotine lozenges. I can only tolerate less than half a milligram of nicotine per day. I have never been a smoker or tobacco user, and I have no cardiac risk factors other than being a 53 year old male. In fact, like many people with PD, my blood pressure is low and my LDL is naturally very low (under 70). I tried isradapine (Dynacirc), a potentially neuro-protective calcium channel blocker, but it made my constipation and orthostatic hypotension intolerable. I took low-dose minocycline until it was proven to be not neuro-protective (actually, harmful) in ALS. I accept this risk, but I want to take every potentially neuro-protective substance which does not cause significant harm until it is proven or disproven. When I try to ask neuro-scientists about this, they tell me to sign up for clinical neuro-protection trials. I would do so, but I do not qualify because of the prescriptions I take. My questions for the neurologists are these: if you had Parkinson's, wouldn't you do as I am doing (be honest now)? If so, are there any other potentially neuro-protective substances you would consider "taking a chance on" until they are proven or disproven?

#2 Dr. Okun

Dr. Okun

Advanced Member

• Ask the Doctor Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,867 posts
  • LocationUniversity of Florida

Posted 11 April 2010 - 11:22 PM