helplinedonate
AndyW

When do you tell your customers you have PD?

I am 56 and was diagnosed in 2014 but in retrospect was probably showing symptoms for several years before that. I'm a self employed software engineer working out of my home in Seattle and do all my work over the internet. I have no face to face interaction with any of my customers. I have one large customer on the east coast that is responsible for 80-90% of all my income and several smaller one that I do small projects for now and then. Like many people I live paycheck to paycheck. I had worked for the same company for 20+ years but lost my job when the economy crapped out in 2008. Unable to find a new job I started my own business but between being unemployed and getting the business off the ground I've burned through all my savings and home equity. In other words if I lose my main customer things get really bad really fast. I will lose my house, my medical insurance, etc. I know I can apply for disability and medicaid etc. but how long does that take, a year? Two?

The problem is not the physical issues with PD but the mental ones. Lack of concentration, apathy, depression, and general cognitive decline. My work is noticeably suffering. I constantly missing deadlines and what I'm delivering is not up to my usual standards.  I' working at probably 50% of usual capacity. Either my main customer hasn't noticed or isn't saying anything. I'm not sure which is worse.  We haven't finished big multi-year project A yet and he is looking forward to working with me on giant projects B and C in the future.